Longest serving

  • Monsuru Alao Owolabi: 4 terms, since 1999 (16 years)
    Lagos Island Federal Constituency, then Lagos Mainland Federal Constituency
  • Binta Garba: 3 terms, 1999 – 2007, 2011 -2015 (12 years)
    Adamawa, Madagali/Michika (Federal Constituency)




First Female Speaker

  • Patricia Olubunmi Foluke Etteh (Ayedaade/Isokan/Irewole, Osun State), 2007.


Youngest Speaker

  • Dimeji Bankole (Abeokuta South, Ogun State), 2007 – 2011.

(elected at the age of 37)




Following the March 28 general elections, about 302 of the 360 representatives will not return to their seats in the 8th session of the National Assembly.

Over 155 lawmakers either opted out or lost out at the primaries of their political parties, while 147 lost at the general elections. Hence, only about 58 scaled through the hurdles, a relative decrease from 2011 when 99 lawmakers returned from the 2007 set.

Prior to the March 28 elections, the PDP had less than 160 members, a decrease from initial majority strength of 208 in June 2011, as a result of mass defection to the All Progressives Congress. Furthermore, the performance of the PDP at the latest poll has paved way for a further decrease to a membership figure under 150.

Even though PDP cleared all the seats in the South South, South East and had good showings in Taraba, Plateau, Ekiti, Lagos and Benue states, the APC was dominant in the North and several South West states and won at least 200 of the 360 seats.

Intriguingly, for the first time, a non-indigene, Oghne Egoh of the Peoples Democratic Party, won a federal constituency seat in Lagos. The House of Representative elect for Amuwo Odofin Federal Constituency polled a total of 29,761 votes to defeat the incumbent, Ganiyu Olukolu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who scored 20 616 votes.