• 57 senators lost their parties’ primaries. This included long-serving Uche Chukwumerije (Abia North) and Victor Ndoma-Egba (Cross River Central), hence the end to their 4th consecutive term ambitions.


  • In Akwa Ibom, Ad­amawa, Cross River, Edo, and Kebbi, all the 3 serving senators lost their parties’ primaries.


  • In Abia, Delta, Ebonyi, Enugu, Imo, Kaduna, Kogi and Plateau states, 2 of the serving senators lost in the primaries.




13 Governors who aimed for Senate State Status
Theodore Orji (PDP) Abia Won general Election
Godswill Akpabio (PDP) Akwa Ibom Won general Election
Issa Yuguda (PDP) Bauchi Lost general election
Gabriel Suswan (PDP) Benue Lost general election
Emmanuel Uduaghan (PDP) Delta Withdrew from party primaries
Martin Elechi (PDP) Ebonyi Lost party primaries
Sullivan Chime (PDP) Enugu Withdrew from party primaries
Mohammed Kwankwaso (APC) Kano Won general Election
Ibrahim Shema (PDP) Katsina Withdrew from party primaries
Usman Dakingari (PDP) Kebbi Lost general election
Mu’azu Babangida Aliyu (PDP) Niger Lost general election
Jonathan Jang (PDP) Plateau Won general Election
Aliyu Wamakko (APC) Sokoto Won general Election




  • 76 senators of the 109-member Red Chamber will not be returning to the 8th assembly


  • Though the Senate President (David Mark) and his vice (Ike Ekweredu) both scaled through the party primaries and general elections for 5th and 4th terms respectively, they will not be retaining their positions as their political party, PDP, won lesser seats than the APC. Hence, the new Senate President and other new principal officers will be members of the APC.


  • The election results also reveal that the next Senate will be male-dominated, as only eight of the 109 elected will be females.


  • Three of the eight women-senators are of the APC – Oluremi Tinubu (Lagos Central), Alhaja Monsurat Sunmonu (Oyo Central) and Binta Masi Garba (Adamawa North). The other five women are from the PDP – Uche Ekwunife (Anambra), Stella Oduah (Anambra), Abiodun Olujimi (Ekiti South), Fatima Raji-Rasaki (Ekiti Central) and Rose Okoh (Cross River North)