On Wednesday, September 28, 2016, the people of Edo State elected their 5th democratically elected Governor. APC’s Godwin Obaseki emerged as the winner with 319,483 votes in a keenly contested governorship, defeating his closest opponent, Osagie Ize–Iyamu of PDP who polled 253, 173 votes. MrIze–Iyamu has rejected the results, describing it as “Predetermined”. Below is the breakdown for three governorship candidates with the highest votes in the poll:

  • Godwin Obaseki, APC – 319, 483 votes
  • Osagie Ize – Iyamu, PDP – 253, 173 votes
  • Osaro Onaiwu, APGA – 876 votes

EiE Nigeria collaborated with Channels Television to host Edo gubernatorial debate on September 4, 2016. This was held at Best Western Hotel, Benin. Over a 2-hour period, 4 candidatesMr. Godwin Obaseki – All Progressives Congress (APC), Earl Osaro Osaze Onawu – All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Pastor Amos Areleogbe – Labour Party (LP), Pastor Osagie Ize – Iyamu – People’s Democratic Party (PDP) were engaged on the policies they intend to implement to solve critical issues in Edo State.

Opening remarks was given by EiE’s Executive Director, ‘Yemi Adamolekun.

List of Candidates for the Edo Governorship Election

S/N. Name of Candidate Sex Party Age Qualification
1. Ishaka Paul Ofemile (Comrade) M AA 57 HND
2. Andrew Igwemoh M ACD 54 WASC, (Chart. Inst. of cost & Mngt Accountants of Pakistan.
3. Cosmos Irabor M ACPN 46 LLB
4. Godwin Nogheghase Obaseki M APC 59 MBA
5. Onaiwu Osaze Osaro M APGA 57 NECO
6. David Ewanlen Okoror M CPP 52 LLM
7. Tobi Adeniyi M ID 37 HND
8. Thompson Osadolor M KOWA 59 LLB
9. Amos Osalumese Areloegbe M LP 48 BSc.
10. Oronsaye Richard M MPPP 46 WASC
11. Peters Osawaru Omoragbon M NCP 54 PGD
12. Ukonga Frank Onaivi M NNPP 56 ITFA (MBA)
13. Akhalamhe Amiemenoghena M PDC 35 BSc.
14. Ize-Iyamu Osagie Andrew M PDP 54 LLB, Bl. Court Order
15. Thomas Amanesi Sadoh M PPA 47 SSCE
16. Agol Tracy Ebun F PPN 44 WAEC
17. Omorogieva Gbajumo M SDP 55 BSc.
18. Adviser Shadrach Nowamagbe Efogie M UPP 45 NECO
19. Nurudeen Inwanfero M YDP 52 GCE