EiE in partnership with TVC Nigeria, Civil Society Situation Room, Center for Democracy and Development (CDD), Transition Monitoring Group (TMG) and SB Morgen hosted 2 live debates for Ekiti governorship candidates on Thursday, July 12th.

Dr Kayode Fayemi (APC) confirmed his attendance in the afternoon but didn’t attend. Nevertheless, 7 governorship candidates participated in the 2 debates.
On Saturday, July 14th, the people of Ekiti State elected their 4th democratic governor. Former governor and Minister of Solid Minerals Development, Dr Kayode Fayemi won with 197, 459 votes while his closest opponent, Prof. Kolapo Olusola had 178, 121 votes.

Prof. Olusola rejected the results and promised to challenge it.

Below is the breakdown of results for the three governorship candidates with the highest number of votes in the poll.

  • Kayode Fayemi, APC – 197, 459 votes
  • Kolapo Olusola, PDP – 178, 121 votes
  • Ayoyinka Dada, PDC – 1,242 votes

List of Candidates for Ekiti Governorship Election

S/N Name of Candidate Gender Political Party
1 Shola Omolola Male AA
2 Jacob Aluko Male Accord Party
3 Owolabi Olowoporoku Male ACD
4 Agboola Olaniyi Male AD
5 Segun Adewale Male ADP
6 Dele Orubuloye Male AGA
7 Steven Oribamise Male AGAP
8 Tunde Afe Male ANRP
9 Saheed Olawole Jimoh Male APA
10 John Kayode Fayemi Male APC
11 Tope Adebayo Male APDA
12 Ayodeji Lawrence Male APGA
13 Adegboye Ajayi Male BNPP
14 David-Adesua Ayodele Male DA
15 Olalekan Olanrewaju Male DPC
16 Akerele Oluyinka Male DPP
17 Sule Ganiyu Male FJP
18 Adewale Olusola Akinyele Male GPN
19 Tosin Ajibade Male ID
20 Temitope Amuda Male KP
21 Sikiru Taiye Lawal Male LP
22 Gregory Olabode Jegede Male MMN
23 Jeremiah Omoyeni Male MPN
24 Babatunde Oladapo Alegbeleye Male NDLP
25 Oladosu Olaniyan Male NPC
26 Dada Ayoyinka Male PDC
27 Kolapo Olusola Male PDP
28 Goke Animashaun Male PPA
29 Oluwadare Patrick Male PPN
30 Akinloye Ayegbusi Male SDP
31 Olusegun Adeleye Male UDP
32 Akinrogun Olufemi Gboyega Male UPN
33 Fakorede Ayodeji Male YDP
34 Temitope Omotayo Male YPP