EiE in partnership with TVC Communications, Nigeria Civil Society Situation Room, Center for Democracy and Development (CDD), Transition Monitoring Group (TMG) hosted a live debate for Osun governorship candidates on Thursday, September 20th.

Fatai Akinbade (ADC), Moshood Adeoti (ADP), Ademola Adeleke (PDP) and Iyiola Omisore (SDP) were invited but didn’t attend. Nevertheless, 5 governorship candidates – James Olugbenga Akintola (AD), Adegboyega Isiaka Oyetola (APC), Fabiyi Oluseyi Olubunmi (KOWA), Babatunde Olaniyi (LP) and Ayodele Mercy Tosin (RP) – participated in the debate.

INEC declared Mr Gboyega Oyetola of APC winner of the Osun governorship election. Mr Oyetola won with 255, 505 votes while his closest opponent, Ademola Adeleke of PDP had 255, 023 votes. Recall INEC declared September 22nd governorship election inconclusive and rerun elections were conducted yesterday, September 27th in 7 polling units in Ife North, Ife South, Orolu and Osogbo local governments.

The Centre for Democracy and Development (CDD) observed the governorship rerun election in Osun State and issued a report that the conduct of some key stakeholders clearly ran contrary to democratic norms and standards, as well as best practices in the conduct of credible elections. CDD notes that several incidents recorded during the poll have undermined the sanctity of the vote and the overall credibility of the electoral process. Specifically, they frown at the conduct of the security agents as well as political party stalwarts who took steps that were clearly inimical to the conduct of a free, fair and credible election.

CDD also reported several cases of denial of access to Polling Units to observers and even voters.

Mr Adeleke rejected the results and promised to challenge it.

Below is the breakdown of results for the three governorship candidates with the highest number of votes in the poll.

Gboyega Oyetola, APC – 255, 505 votes

Ademola Adeleke, PDP – 255, 023votes

Iyiola Omisore, SDP – 128053

List of Candidates for Osun Governorship Election

S/N Candidates Political Party
1 Julius Olapade Okunola Accord
2 Ogunmodede Adeloye AA
3 Oludare Timothy Akinola ABP
4 Gbenga Afeni ACD
5 Rufai Adebisi Mujidat ACPN
6 James Olugbenga Akintola AD
7 Fatai Akinade Akinbade ADC
8 Adeoti Moshood Olalekan ADP
9 Kehinde Olufemi Lawrence AGA
10 Adejola Adebayo Rufus AGAP
11 Alarape Babatunde ANRP
12 Adeleke Adesoji APA
13 Adegboyega Isiaka Oyetola APC
14 Oluwatokunbo Adetokunbo Adedayo APGA
15 Ekundayo Ademola Precious APP
16 Olapade Olajide Victor BNPP
17 Ilori Titus Oluwafemi C4C
18 Mutiu Abiodun Ibrahim DA
19 Aderemi Aree DPC
20 Solomon Ayodeji Oni DPP
21 Babatunde Salako Joseph FJP
22 Adetipe Adebodun Abiola GDPN
23 Rafiu Shehu Anifowose GPN
24 Adedoyin Adegoke HDP
25 Fabiyi Oluseyi Olubunmi Kowa
26 Babatunde Olaniyi LP
27 Raphael A. Feranmi MMN
28 Lawal Ganiyu Akanfe MPN
29 Kamarudeen Kalemi Abiodun NCP
30 Olaniyi Anthony Fadahunsi NPC
31 Jegede Hannah Taiwo NEPP
32 Adefare Segun Adegoke NNPP
33 Adebayo Rasheedat PANDEL
34 Kolawole Rafiu Ojonla PDC
35 Ademola Nurudeen Adeleke PDP
36 Adedokun Musbau Olalekan PPA
37 Ifeolu Kehinde Adewunmi PPC
38 Akintunde Adesoji PPN
39 Badmus Tajudeen PRP
40 Adegboyega Aderemi PT
41 Ayodele Mercy Tosin RP
42 Iyiola Omisore SDP
43 Ayoade Ezekiel Adegboyega SNP
44 Alfred Adegoke SPN
45 Adediji Olanrewaju Adewuyi UPN
46 Odutade Olagunju Adesanya UPP
47 Adebayo Adeolu Elisha YDP
48 Adetunji Olubunmi Omotayo YPP